About NOVA Chamber Music Series


NOVA Chamber Music Series celebrates the vast chamber music repertoire and Utah's resident artists through concerts, commissions of new works, educational programs, and recordings.


The NOVA Chamber Music Series is dedicated to presenting thoughtful and innovative chamber music programs performed by the finest resident musicians of Utah. NOVA is Utah's longest-running chamber music series and strives to be the premiere forum for chamber music in order to serve:

NOVA Chamber Music Series is a registered 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Board of Directors

Hillary Hahn, President
Richard Sheinberg, Vice-President/Treasurer
Janell Weinstock, Vice-President/Secretary
Ron Kastner
Pam Littig
Julie Meredith
Glenn Prestwich
Kathryn Waddell


Madeline Adkins, Music Director
Jason Hardink, Artistic Director Emeritus
Kristin Rector, Executive Director
Emilio Casillas, Operations Manager
Chris Myers, Marketing Manager


Since its inception in 1977, NOVA Chamber Music Series has taken a leading role in the arts community of Utah, providing a venue for Utah artists and audiences to explore the vast chamber music repertoire. Founded by former Utah Symphony clarinetist Russell Harlow, NOVA's first decade featured many esteemed local musicians including violist William Primrose, Utah Symphony concertmasters William Preucil and Andrés Cárdenes, and numerous collaborations with composer Ramiro Cortés. NOVA’s first commission was the Cortés Trio for Clarinet, Cello and Piano in 1981.

In 1986, Utah Symphony violinist Barbara Scowcroft was appointed Artistic Director. In her 18 seasons as Artistic Director, the series regularly featured violinist and Utah Symphony Music Director Joseph Silverstein, mezzo-soprano Lani Poulson, and Utah Symphony Concertmaster Ralph Matson. During the 2002 Winter Olympics Cultural Olympiad, Ms. Scowcroft invited members of the Utah Youth Symphony and the International Youth Orchestra to perform alongside members of the Utah Symphony. Commissions during her tenure featured works by William Hill (Sonata for Marimba and Strings, 2000), and the University of Utah’s John Costa (Chrysanthemum, 1997). In 1999, NOVA received the Governor's Award in the Arts for its contribution to the cultural life of Utah.

Corbin Johnston, Utah Symphony Associate Principal Bassist, was named Artistic Director in 2004. His tenure was distinguished by a broad range of projects further connecting NOVA to the local community and to audiences farther afield. In 2007, NOVA took a leading role in organizing Music for the End of Time: Olivier Messiaen in Utah, a collaboration with numerous arts organizations of Salt Lake City commemorating Messiaen’s historic 1972 visit to Utah. 2007 also marked the establishment of a string quartet residency featuring the Fry Street Quartet, resident artists at the Caine College of Arts at Utah State University. NOVA’s 30th anniversary season began with a commission from University of Utah’s Morris Rosenzweig and the series’ first commercial recording. In addition, the season expanded from five to six concerts, with occasional repeat performances at BYU and Snow College. The NOVA Project, an educational concert series for children, was introduced in 2005.

NOVA’s current Artistic Director, Utah Symphony Pianist Jason Hardink, was appointed in the fall of 2009. Under his leadership the series has deepened relationships with Utah composers while broadening NOVA’s profile nationally through commissions and recordings of works by composers Curtis Curtis-Smith, Jason Eckardt, and Michael Ellison. Since 2009, NOVA has featured collaborations with Utah Symphony Music Director Thierry Fischer, soprano Celena Shafer, and the PLAN-B Theatre Company. The NOVA Gallery Series, performed in the intimacy of the Art Barn Finch Lane Gallery and featuring an even more in-depth view of selected composers, was added to NOVA’s schedule in the Fall of 2013.