NOVA Chamber Music Series Presents Micro-Concerto on February 25, 2018

On Sunday, February 25 Keith Carrick, Utah Symphony Principal Percussion, will perform Steven Mackey’s Micro-Concerto.  Also on the program is the Beethoven String Quartet opus 95 “Serioso” and the Sextet for Horns and String Quartet, opus 81b.

Audiences will have the opportunity to hear the premiere of …. snip, snip… a new work by Morris Rosenzweig, commissioned for NOVA’s 40th Anniversary season.

“Our reunion with this esteemed composer is very meaningful to our musicians and audience,” stated Jason Hardink, Artistic Director. “Morris is a composer of imagination, wit, and virtuosity. NOVA has made a point of featuring his music over the past seasons in anticipation of this commissioned work.”

NOVA commissioned Rosenzweig to write reprise in celebration of the NOVA’s 30th anniversary season in 2007. NOVA has also recently performed his horn trio so as to and Katrina: 2005 and counting, for clarinet and electronics.

Morris Rosenzweig's …. snip, snip… has been made possible by the Chamber Music America Classical Commissioning Program, with generous funding provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, and the Chamber Music America Endowment Fund.

Composer Morris Rosenzweig was born in 1952 in New Orleans, where he grew up among the tailors, merchants, and strong-willed women of an extended family which has lived in southern Louisiana since the mid-1890s. His works have been widely presented throughout the United States, as well as in Denmark, Sweden, Holland, France, Germany, Japan, Argentina, Mexico and Israel. Among the noted ensembles who have brought these works to life are Speculum Musicae, "Piano and Percussion-Stuttgart", The New York New Music Ensemble, the Chamber Players of the League-ISCM, EARPLAY, NOVA, Philippe Entremont with the New Orleans Symphony, and Joseph Silverstein with the Utah Symphony.

Commenting on the inspiration for this new work Rosenzweig noted, “I descend from a long line of tailors, some of them every day artisans, some real artists. I obviously hold the profession in high esteem, and pleasurably regularly recall the sensation of going to my uncle’s shop in New Orleans with its endlessly long tables and masses of cloth bolts. So, ....snip, snip.....refers to my working out, “tailoring” the material that is meant to unfold as a six-section, 15-minute narrative, which sometimes features the piano and sometimes has it do handwork in conjunction with the rest of the ensemble.”

Members of the Ulysses Quartet will be featured performing the premiere of ….snip, snip…. along with Jason Hardink (piano), Katie Porter (clarinet), and Stephen Proser (horn). 

The Ulysses String Quartet has been praised for their “textural versatility,” “grave beauty,” and “gentle blanket of colour,” (Strad) as well as “avid enthusiasm ... [with] chops to back up their passion” and a “vibrant sonority” (San Diego Story). Hailing from Canada, the United States and Taiwan, members have performed in prestigious halls such as Esterházy Palace, Carnegie Hall, and the Taiwan National Concert Hall. 

Audience members are invited to join composer Morris Rosenzweig and Artistic Director Jason Hardink for a pre-concert discussion. Pre-concert talks are held in room 270 at the University Of Utah School Of Music at 2:30 PM. 

Sunday February 25, 3 PM
Libby Gardner Hall, University of Utah School of Music
$20 general admission, $18 seniors, students free.

For more information or email

Nova Chamber Music Series
Nova Chamber Music Series


Leave a comment

Comments have to be approved before showing up.