2017-18 Subscription Series

NOVA Chamber Music Series, 40th Anniversary Season
NOVA embarks on an ambitious season in celebration of 40 years of sublime and exciting chamber music concerts in Utah. With a mission to bring Utah audiences the best of Utah classical musicians and composers, NOVA’s 2017-18 season will feature commissions from 6 composers as well as 6 outstanding Utah musicians as soloists in chamber concerti.

The NOVA Subscription Series is the centerpiece of the NOVA Chamber Music Series, performed in beautiful Libby Gardner Hall at the University of Utah. Six (6) concerts throughout the season feature NOVA's trademark innovative mix of beloved chamber music classics with a vibrant array of newer works.

2017-18 Subscription Series @ Libby Gardner Hall

January 21, 2018: Mozart, Father and Son
Utah Symphony Associate Concertmaster Kathryn Eberle is soloist in Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Major, while pianist Frank Weinstock is featured in Mozart’s Piano Trio in C Major, K. 548. Leopold Mozart’s gorgeous Concerto for Alto Trombone will feature Utah Symphony Principal Trombone Mark Davidson.

February 25, 2018: Micro-Concerto
NOVA collaborates with composer Morris Rosenzweig and Ulysses Quartet of the Louie Moreau Institute for New Music on One Leaf, snip, snip, a new commission. Also on the program is the Beethoven String Quartet opus 95 “Serioso” and the Sextet for Horns and String Quartet, opus 81b, as well as Steven Mackey’s Micro-Concerto, featuring Keith Carrick, Utah Symphony Principal Percussion.

April 15, 2018: Bach and New Horizons  
This program features two distinctly NOVA pairings: Anne Francis Bayless, cellist of the Fry Street Quartet, and Brant Bayless, Utah Symphony Principal Viola, will perform a J. S. Bach solo cello suite with viola music by György Kurtág woven throughout. The concert ends with a new commission by Inés Thiebaut, an impossibly virtuosic piano chamber concerto composed for Artistic Director Jason Hardink, and J.C. Bach’s uplifting and witty Concerto for Piano and Strings in E-Flat, opus 7, no. 5.

May 6, 2018: Season Finale
The 40th Anniversary Season closes with music by Schubert and acclaimed guest composer Augusta Read Thomas. Ms. Thomas has composed a new, interdisciplinary work for NOVA with the support of the Sounds of Science Commissioning Club. Featured artists include Utah Symphony Music Director Thierry Fischer, soprano Melissa Heath singing Schubert lieder, and an all-star lineup of Utah musicians for Schubert’s Octet.


  • Over 23% off single ticket pricing
  • Invitations to Musician Receptions & Special Events
  • Personalized Subscriber Card for priority seating
  • Questions? Email us at info@novaslc.org or call 801.556.2241


Donate to NOVA
Donate Now