Back to All Events

Parallel Worlds

  • Libby Gardner Concert Hall 1375 Presidents Circle Salt Lake City, UT, 84112 United States (map)

Guest pianist Luis Magalhães is featured in Nikolai Kapustin’s Double Concerto for Violin and Piano. This concert focused on the intersection of jazz and classical music also includes Aaron Copland’s Quiet City (featuring Lissa Stolz on English horn and Travis Peterson on trumpet) and William Grant Still’s Suite for Violin and Piano.

Aaron Copland: Quiet City
Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Sonata No. 1
William Grant Still: Suite for Violin and Piano
Nikolai Kapustin: Double Concerto for Violin and Piano, op. 105

Get More Out of Your Experience

Join us before each concert at 2:30pm to participate in a discussion about the music with Jeff Counts, Vice President of Operations & General Manager of the Utah Symphony. This is a great opportunity to learn more about the program and increase your enjoyment of the music you'll hear.